COVID-19 Response
The health and safety of community members is our number one priority. For that reason, we have decided to cancel the 2020 Lakefly Writers Conference.

Refunds: We are working on issuing full refunds to all who registered but please note it may take 8 to 10 weeks. Checks will be mailed to the address you provided at the time of registration; if you have since moved or would like the check mailed to a different address, please email
Hotel: If you registered for a hotel room at the Best Western Premiere Waterfront Hotel adjacent to the convention center, your room reservation has automatically been canceled.
Writing Contests: The writing contests are still moving forward! Winners will be notified by e-mail. Once we verify the addresses of the winners, checks and certificates will be mailed.
Save the dates: Our next conference will be May 7-8, 2021 at the Oshkosh Convention Center.

Stay safe and healthy, and keep on writing!


Announcing congratulations to the 2020 Lakefly Writing Contest Winners:

Flash Fiction

1st Place:
A Most Unusual Find
by Kerri Lukasavitz

2nd Place:
Unforgiving Winter
by Yvette Flaten

3rd Place:
Short Visit Home
by Ronnell Gibson

Short Story

1st Place:
Where Do We Go from Here
by Jarrett Kaufman

2nd Place:
A Walk in the Snow
by Pamela J. A. Fullerton

3rd Place:
The Giantess
by Angel Rude


1st Place:
To the Unknown Singer
by Yvette Flaten

2nd Place:
Paloma, Because
by Bill Kolberg

3rd Place:
by Deborah Cooper

Teen Short Story

1st Place:
I Know Why the Chicken Crossed the Road
by Paige Weber

2nd Place:
Before a Fall
by Sophia Danielson

3rd Place:
Broken Pieces
by Sofia Santamaria-Micher

Enjoy reading the winning entries here:
2020 Lakefly Writing Contest Winners Booklet

Thank you!